02 March 2015


WINTER MEMBERSHIP IS AVAILABLE, FOR DETAILS PLEASE CONTACT OUR STEWARD on 01556 630398 or email steward@colvendgolfclub.co.uk



Colvend Wrinklies Xmas game Published: - 17 December 2014

Here on Tuesday after lunch
We the Wrinklies are a hardy bunch.  
Golf without the wind and rain 
Thar's our prayer again, again.

New members come and numbers grow
What ever brings them heaven knows
They want to join in all the fun
And meeting here is how it's done

We all dress up in woollies thick
No-one wants to end up sick
Lots of Wrinklies don't come to play
Unless the sun is out that day

But signing in we stand in line
Everyone must be on time
Tick it here and sign it there
Make an error we don't dare

Romney knows we try our best
that Ron was never impressed
The draw is made and off we go
to all the tees here high and low

Prim and Janet scoot on by
Only if the course is dry
It's such a shame if they can't play
The sight of them just makes our day

The play is fun but all agree
The Club house beckons time for tea
Peter is behind the bar
And Ann, the kitchen's little star

We've played our way around the course
All before the wine of course
Just because we are "auld timers"
Doesn't mean we have Altziemers

The chat is great and so much fun
Shush he's on his feet, who has won
The comments made on every score
Some are greeted with a roar

So please you Wrinklies play the game
Wehn I am far away from hame
You think it's sand and sun no doubt
It's dust and flies and bloody draught.....

Poet (Mary Clark)

Stephen Burrows Memorial Texas Scramble Published: - 13 December 2014

Match Secretary, Peter Barrett(left) presented the winning team with the Stephen Burrows
Memorial Texas Scramble Trophy team of four.  The trophy was played on Saturday 13th December 2014.  
The winning team was John McCormack(right) Nicky Baker Centre(with his little helper),
Kenny McKnight and Drew McCutcheon were unfortunately not able to
be at the presentation.   

Prize Giving 2014 Published: - 03 November 2014

                 PRIZE GIVING ON FRIDAY 31st OCTOBER 2014
          A small band of winners with their hard won trophies

Winners of the closing day competition Published: - 28 September 2014

Winners David Young on the left and Ian Webb on the right being 
presented with the Closing Day Competition Cup by President
Mac MacFadzean on Sunday 28 September 2014

Farewell gift Published: - 06 August 2014

President Will McFadzean (on the left), presented The McEwans with a print
of the view from the clubhouse terrace.  An impressive scene and one they
have enjoyed over their many years looking out of the clubhouse windows -
although not always in weather as enjoyable as that this summer....so far.

Presidents Prize Winners 2014 Published: - 06 August 2014

Renowned Colvend Stewarding team Alan and Jan McEwan said a sad
farewell at the beginning of the month,  but in order that farewells
could be properly expressed, the pair were invited back to the club
as guests of honour, on Sunday 20 July, when members played for
the President's Prize.  

They were invited to make the presentations to the winners on
behalf of the President. (left) President Willy McFadzean,
winners Peter Butler, Paul Johnston and Ken Urquhart who
is standing between Jan and Alan. 

COURSE RECORD BROKEN Published: - 06 August 2014

After many years of threatening to do it, nine times club champion
Colin Heuchan has finally achieved what most Colvend members
had long assumed was inevitable.  Colin has broken
the course record.  Playing in the recent Centenary Stableford
he carded a magnificent 63 to beat the previous best score, set
over 12 years ago by Stuart "Huggy" McKnight.

"Huggy" is now happily settled in Brisbane with Aussie wife,
Gabe, and their two children, Emma and Hamish.  However, by
sheer coincidence, he was back in the old country on holiday
catching up with friends and family, when his record was broken.
This is a non golfing trip, so Colin's total is safe from a bid to reclaim
the crown and "Huggy" looks happy enough to
congratulate the new man at the top.  Not half
as happy as Colin, who now looks forward to claiming that
10th Colvend title later this year.

THE BIG ADVENTURE Published: - 17 July 2014

After many phone calls and countless spread sheets 20 ladies ventured to Powfoot golf course to play in the Powfoot Am Am, in the course of which they played for the Elma Nelson Crystal Bell. The winning team consisted of Ruth Carswell, Wendy Bailey, Mary Clark and Christine Sanderson.

Macmillan Cancer Support winners Published: - 24 May 2014

Triumphant winners of the Macmillan Cancer Support Open, 
Roy McCourt (left) and Adrian Donaldson (right) being presented
with the trophy by Club Captain David Young.

Maryport G.C. v Colvend G.C. Published: - 15 May 2014

The yearly match between Maryport G.C. and Colvend G.C.
took place on Thursday 15 May.  The trophy was won
this year by Colvend.  The return match will take place
at Maryport in 2015 where they will get the chance to 
win the trophy back.

Pocklington Triumphs Again Published: - 05 May 2014

On Monday 5th May 2014, for only the second time
in the nine years since it was initiated, the visiting team
from Pocklington triumphed in the annual battle for the aptly
named Friendship Cup.
Pocklington 176 Stableford points, Colvend 161 Stableford points.

Congratulations to Pocklington

Club Texas Scramble Winners 20 April - Published - 20 April 2014

Colvend Golf Club Gents Captain David Young (centre)
presenting the Texas Scramble Shield to the winners
Cyril Hogg, Mark Booth, Corinne Moore, Duncan MacDonald
with a score 74 - 15 = 59.  Scoring under the Silloth System


The 2014 Club Captain, David Young about to tee off before an
assembly of club members on Opening Day Sunday 30 March.

2014 Opening Day Competition Winners Published - 30 March 2014

Winners of the 2014 Season competition,
The Bernard Levitt Memorial Trophy, was won
by Dan McKie and Colin Heuchan.  Unfortunately
Colin could not stay for the presentation
so Colvend Golf Club President Willy McFazean
(on the left) presented the trophy to Dan McKie.

Gents win 2nd round of Mail on Sunday Comp. Published - 16 March 2014

Our valiant gents live to fight on in the 3rd round
of the Mail on Sunday Competition after winning
against Southerness at Southerness Golf Course
on Saturday 15th March 2014. From the left, Malcolm Stewart, Adrian Donaldson, Romney Johnston, Roy McCourt and David Young. 
Stephen Burrows Memorial Texas Scramble Published: - 11 January 2014


Finaly success, we have at last managed
to play the Stephen Burrows Memorial
Texas Scramble after it was rained off on
two occasions.  Sun was shining on the
winning team of Alistair Burrows,
Anna McFarlane,Liz McTaggart and Brian Smith
The trophy was presented by Helen Burrows.

Home   |   News   |   Location   |   Course   |   Scorecard   |   Club Info   |   Clubhouse   |   Club Fixtures   |   Open Competitions   |   Online Booking   |   Results   |   Forms   |   Accommodation   |   Local Attractions   |   Local Area   |   Contact Us
Copyright 2014 by Colvend Golf Club